What we know today as concert season first appeared in Paris in 1725 under the name of Concert Spirituel, Spiritual Concert, and was our inspiration behind the programme we have chosen especially for you.


Programme Notes

Concert Spirituel (Spiritual Concert) was the name of one of the first public concert series to exist as we know it today. The concerts began in Paris in 1725 and lasted until 1790. Later, concerts or concert series of the same name also took place in Vienna and London. Designed to provide entertainment and amusement during the Easter fortnight and religious holidays, when the major concert halls such as the Paris Opera, the Comédie-Française and the Comédie-Italienne were closed, the programme featured a mixture of choral works of sacred music of the liturgical calendar, with extraordinary virtuoso instrumental pieces. Among the latter is Mozart's very famous, vibrant and energetic, Symphony No. 31, which he premiered in 1778 at the age of 22, which we present in this concert by the Orquestra Clássica do Sul.


Jean-Joseph Mouret (1682 - 1738), a highly acclaimed French musician of his time, was considered one of his country's greatest composers of Baroque music. Although his prestige has faded over time and his compositions are rarely performed today, Mouret's music survives to this day thanks to the popularity of Fanfare-Rondeau, his first Suite of Symphonies, which the Orquestra Classica do Sul will perform in this concert.


Frank Bridge (1879 - 1941), British composer and violinist, is one of the three B's of 20th century English classical music, along with Berg and Britten; the latter, his most brilliant student and admirer. Deeply opposed to the First World War, a convinced pacifist, he found in musical composition the space he was looking for to share his beliefs. The piece Lament that we have chosen for this concert is an explicit example of his musical statement. Written on a single day, the 14th of June 1915, and dedicated to Catarina Crompton, a 9 year-old, who, like all her family and other passengers and crew members, did not resist the attack on the Lusitania ship in which she was travelling, it is a declaration of sadness, filled with melancholy and pain, but with a strong touch of anger and indignation, which reminds us of what was lost at sea that day.


Haydn reportedly wrote Symphony No. 6 for Easter week around 1769. In the absence of the original autograph, it is impossible to ascertain the date of composition, although it matches with the work's location in the Entwurf Katalog, Haydn's own catalogue for his works. Because of its association with Easter week, Haydn chooses, for the first time for one of his symphonies, the minor mode and incorporates a melody derived from an ancient chant of the Passion of Christ, of enormous contrast to the furious opening theme. The same sorrow is also reproduced in the second movement, reinforcing the symphony's connection to the Passion by evoking a melody that would have been familiar to audiences of the time. Since Haydn's day the symphony has been known as "Lamentatione", but the title is not the composer's, as, oddly enough, all the names of his symphonies.



JEAN-JOSEPH MOURET (1682 – 1738)

Fanfares et Simphonies

(Fanfares and symphonies)


JOSEPH HAYDN (1732 – 1809)

Symphony No.26, Hob. I. 26 “Lamentatione”

1.      Allegro assai con spirito

2.      Adagio

3.      Minuet - Trio


Break -


FRANK BRIDGE (1879 -1941)

Lament, H. 117


W. A. MOZART (1756 – 1791)

Symphony No. 31 “Paris”, Lv. 297/300a

1.      Allegro assai

2.      Andante

3.      Allegro


Orquestra Clássica do Sul

Rui Pinheiro, Principal Conductor


55 minutes, Duration



Centro Cultural


Tickets: 6€ >

Informations: T: 282 770 450


Município de Lagos, Organization



back to regular programme


Venue and time to be designated

see more


AP Eva Senses Hotel

see more

Subscribe to our Newsletter


Rua João Brito Vargas
Casa das Figuras
8005-145 Faro
Follow us